Log in

Plains Political Tradition

Essays on South Dakota Political Culture

Plains Political Tradition


$19.95, Paperback
ISBN: 9780982274927

The first volume in the Plains Political Tradition series

"This collection of essays honors these political anachronisms and authoritatively meets its goal to, 'integrate and synthesize South Dakota history and locate it in the broader context of American history.'"—Foreword Reviews

"The Plains Political Tradition is an excellent and much recommended addition to any politics collection looking to gain insight on local and state level politics from all across the United States."—The Midwest Book Review

"This collection of essays uses history, politics, art, literature, and other influences to give depth to the political culture of the Mount Rushmore State."—Minnesota History

First impressions of the political landscape in South Dakota tend towards an assumption of hard-line conservatism, and yet such a conclusion barely scratches the surface of what constitutes political tradition in the Mount Rushmore State.

Editors Jon K. Lauck, John E. Miller, and Donald C. Simmons, Jr., have drawn together twelve essays on disparate topics in order to consider the state’s underlying political culture. Each essay addresses an aspect of history, politics, or art, subtly exposing the contradictory nature of South Dakotans and elucidating the many elements that comprise the larger political tradition.

Scholars from around the country consider topics such as war and peace, literature, environmentalism, the American Indian Movement, left-wing and liberal politics, immigration, and defeat. With each essay, the discussion builds upon itself, allowing the reader to develop a fuller sense of where South Dakota fits into the growing study of political culture in modern society.

Editor of Plains Political Tradition, Vol. 1 at the 2012 South Dakota Festival of Books:

Ahrar Ahmad
Gretchen Heefner
Jason A. Heppler
John Husmann
Joel Johnson
Jon K. Lauck
Richard Lofthus
John E. Miller
Paula M. Nelson
William C. Pratt
Jon D. Schaff
Donald C. Simmons, Jr.
Catherine McNicol Stock
Frank Van Nuys
Donald A. Watt


About the Editors


Similar Books